Richard Attenborough, Big X: Genre Grandeur – The Great Escape (1963)


by Niall McArdle

images (1)

We lost another great the other day: actor, producer, director and lion of the British Film Industry, Richard Attenborough. For many he will only ever be a cuddly grandfather type in Jurassic Park; for others the director of the sprawling epics A Bridge Too FarGandhi, and Chaplin, for others the creepy serial killer John Christie in 10 Rillington Place; and for others still the kindly, blubbering vanguard of the film industry in Britain.

images

For me he’s all of these things, and to be honest, when I think of him I tend to first remember him as Roger Bartlett, aka Big X in The Great Escape.

MovieRob is hosting Genre Grandeur on war films for August, so it seemed appropriate to post a review.

Genre Grandeur – The Great Escape (1963).

3 thoughts on “Richard Attenborough, Big X: Genre Grandeur – The Great Escape (1963)

  1. A comprehensive look at a film you obviously love Niall, and a fitting tribute to Sir Dickie. I personally prefer him in darker roles, as Christie and Pinkie, when he is less like himself. Nonetheless, a worthy performance in this film, undoubtedly.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I watched this one fairly recently as one of the many I have left to do for myself for my IMDB thing. SO glad I finally watched it – I loved it! And he was fantastic – I’d never seen him so young in anything before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

