What do I have on the shelves for Reading Ireland Month?


Are you ready for Ireland Month? Fleur is. Which Irish books do you have on your shelves that you’d like to write about?

LiteratureCornwall

Fleur is a Cornish book blogger … by which I mean she is a book blogger who lives in Cornwall, not just someone who blogs about Cornish books … although I’m sure she’s done that too.

When she’s not eating Cornish pasties, I’m sure she’s dreaming of Manderley.

Anyway, have a gander at the list of Irish books on her shelves.

We can’t wait to see her posts for Ireland Month in March.

If you’d like to take part in Ireland Month, more details are here.

Fleur in her World

picmonkey-collage-2

My first thought when I read about Reading Ireland Month was that it would would beautifully with the TBR Dare, because I know that there are Irish books to be read on the Virago bookcase and at various other places around the house.

There are more than I’ll read in March, but I do like to make a list and to have choices.

* * * * * * *

The first name that came to mind was Molly Keane. I love her writing but there’s something about her books – a sharpness, a distinctiveness, I don’t know quite what to call it – that makes me inclined to space them out. I haven’t read one for a while though and I think it’s time. Maybe ‘Mad Puppetstown’:

In the early 1900s Easter lives with her Aunt Brenda, her cousins Evelyn and Basil, and their Great-Aunt Dicksie in an imposing…

View original post 1,494 more words

Leave a Reply

