First Chapter, First Paragraph


First Chapter, First Paragraph is a weekly bookish meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.

first-chapter

Every book needs a good first paragraph to draw you in.

I usually have several books on the go, but I’ll offer up the first paragraph of the book I’m currently enjoying the most: The Galton Case, one of the best of Ross Macdonald’s Archer novels.

download

The law offices of Wellesley and Sable were over a savings bank on the main street of Santa Teresa. Their private elevator lifted you from a bare little lobby into an atmosphere of elegant simplicity. It created the impression that after years of struggle you were rising effortlessly to your natural level, one of the chosen.

Intrigued? Read on or give up?

What’s the first paragraph of the book you’re reading right now?

17 thoughts on “First Chapter, First Paragraph

  1. Hmm. Intriguing. Sounds good! 🙂 I like the idea of posting one of these myself. I don’t have it with me but I’m sure the first paragraph of what I’m currently reading is probably pretty f*%ked up. If it could be called a paragraph… (Tank Girl) lol. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t got a book on the go just now, Niall, but I agree that a good opening can draw you in.
    I usually cite the opening lines of ‘Rebecca’, by Daphne Du Maurier. ‘Last night, I dreamt I went to Manderley again.’ That worked so well, for so many readers.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love these older mysteries. My husband isn’t a fan of Ross Macdonald’s though and I think gave away his books when we moved without my having a chance to read him. I had so many we kept, I didn’t think much of it at the time. I always have the library though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

