Miles Ahead


Jazz is not a subject that has been explored much in movies. Sure, there’s ‘Round Midnight and Bird, as well as biopics of the likes of Glenn MillerBenny Goodman, and, of course, Al Jolson. Hollywood, however, tends to prefer the excessesaggrandizement and pretensions of rock n’ roll musicians over the improvisational brilliance of cats like Charlie ParkerJohn Coltrane, and Miles Davis.

A new movie, however, might restore the balance and make the coolest music in history even cooler.

Miles Ahead, starring and directed by Don Cheadle, focuses on a period in the life of Miles Davis when he was trying to recover stolen tapes, and was in the company of an ambitious Rolling Stone reporter, played by Ewan McGregor.

index

The movie takes an unorthodox treatment of its subject. “When I met with [Miles’] family, I told them I wanted to do something that wasn’t like I had seen before, and I had a take on the movie, that if I was going to play him, that it had to be as creative and different, that if it wasn’t as aspirational as he was, then I wasn’t really that interested,”Cheadle tells Entertainment Weekly.

Expect lots of guns, lots of cocaine, lots of seventies threads, and lots of great music.

Miles Ahead opens on April 1, and you’d be a fool to miss it.

2paragraphs.com

8 thoughts on “Miles Ahead

  1. I agree with Trent. Why the gun play, and gangsterism? Miles Davis’ music is the story of my youth, my musical development, and the discovery of his wonderful jazz sounds. I adore his trumpet, in any style, but especially in this, his interpretation of the heartbreaking, ‘Concierto de Aranjuez. (And ‘My Funny Valentine’, of course.)

    Thanks, Niall I will be watching for this with some eager anticipation.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s high on my ‘radar’, Niall. Both great British actors, and I have heard nothing but good things about the film. A lot of it is filmed in central Norwich, as well as on the Norfolk Broads at Horning, a place I know fairly well. It will definitely be one for me, in every respect.
        Cheers, Pete.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

