The Light on the Water


It’s been a busy few weeks (months, actually) for me between work, trying to write, and just, you know, stuff, that I haven’t had time to do any blogging, so apologies for not posting anything in a long, long while.

giphy-downsized

But now is as good a time as any to return because I’m excited to announce that I have had another short story published in the Irish Times.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Illustration: Brendon Deacy

It is a privilege to be included in Hennessy New Irish Writing for the second time. I was included a couple of years ago for this story.

My new story, “The Light on the Water” is one I worked on for some time; cutting, moving bits around, and cutting more until I got it where I wanted it to be.

The absolutely gorgeous illustration to accompany it is by artist Brendon Deacy. It captures the mood and meaning of the story perfectly.

You can read “The Light on the Water” here, and while you’re at it, check out the other winning stories and poetry, including stunning poems for July by Chris Connolly and June’s gorgeous winning story by my good pal Ruth McKee.

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Light on the Water

Leave a comment