“You Like Me! You Really Like Me!” The Liebster Award


sally-field-oscar-speech-oBy Niall McArdle

I’ve been nominated for a Liebster Award by the great film blog The Flim Culb. I feel honoured and a little embarrassed. This is the second blog award I have been nominated for (the first was the Versatile Blogger).

imagesThank you so much to The Flim Culb. It’s a great film site. And no, I haven’t misspelled the name. You should head over there now and check it out.

The Liebster Award is intended to bring attention to new or newish blogs that don’t yet have a large following. I need to answer some questions about my favourite things, and nominate other blogs for the award. There’s a nice blog post here explaining its origins and rules. The main idea, as with other blogging awards such as The Versatile Blogger Award, is to recognise blogs you admire, and to pay it forward.

So let me nominate some blogs for The Liebster Award right now.

Beanmimo

Paddy K

746 Books

Film Grimoire

Vigil4ntre4per

A Movie A Country A Journey

BeetleyPete

Clare O’Dea Writing

“Everything You Can Imagine Is Real”

Now, to answer the questions.

My Favourite Character

Too many to choose over the years from books and films, but i’m going to pick a real-life character, Mr Lysaght, who owned the corner shop where I grew up. My brother made a short film all about this wise, wonderful and eccentric man, which you can see here.

My Favourite Meal

The kind you share with friends.

My Favourite Sport

To play? Tiddlywinks. To watch? Because the Olympics are on right now I’m obsessed with female figure skating: there’s something about attractive, bendy young women that appeals.

My Favourite Memory

Booterstown
Booterstown

My Favourite Holiday

This coming Monday, January 24th, is Beer Can Appreciation Day

My Favourite Quote

From John Banville’s The Book of Evidence:

“I have never really got used to being on this earth. Somethings I think our presence here is due to a cosmic blunder, that we were meant for another planet altogether, with other arrangements, and other laws, and other, grimmer skies. I try to imagine it, our true place, off on the far side of the galaxy, whirling and whirling. And the ones who were meant for here, are they out there, baffled and homesick, like us? No, they would have become extinct long ago. How could they survive, these gentle earthlings, in a world that was meant to contain us?

My Favourite Song

Can I pick two?

My Favourite Place

The inside of my head

My Favourite Item of Clothing

I usually go out on a Friday in my favourite suit

italian_knight_armorMy Favourite Animal

Darcy
Darcy

My Favourite Website

Generation Emigration

So to all the bloggers, I have nominated, I now ask the same questions:

1. Character (could be in film, literature, theatre, real life…. anything you like)
2. Meal
3. Sport (to play or simply watch)
4. Memory
5. Holiday (Christmas, Easter, Halloween… you know the rest)
6. Quote
7. Song 
8. Place 
9. Item of Clothing
10. Animal
11. Website

10 thoughts on ““You Like Me! You Really Like Me!” The Liebster Award

  1. Cheers Niall. I don’t really ‘do’ awards on the blog, but I congratulate you for getting yours.
    I will answer your questions though!
    1) Sir John Falstaff. (Shakespearean character) A man who knew how to drink, and to live.
    2) Belly Pork.
    3) No sports, I hate them all.
    4) Drinking coffee outside Bar Italia in Soho, at 2am, after leaving Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club.
    5) My birthday, because it is only for me!
    6) ‘We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars’ (Oscar Wilde)
    7) ‘Dream a little dream of me’. (Mama Cass version)
    8) Tower Bridge, London. (South Side)
    9) Tassel Loafers. (Northern Soul-Keep The Faith!)
    10) My dog, Ollie the SharPei. (See Gravatar picture)
    11) Anagram Solver (great for competitions!) or Wikipedia, for endless trivia. Can’t choose…
    Regards from Norfolk, and thanks for the nomination. Pete.

    Like

Leave a comment